Iván Sánchez


Iván Sánchez Iglesias - Refin(d)ing





Martien Maas, Stem Quartet

about the project

The concert program Refin(d)ing came forth from
1) 4 years of studies in the Bachelor’s of Music in Fontys Academy of Music and Arts, and;
2) from the Covid-19 pandemic that preceded the months before the recital.

The months in lockdown in the spring of 2020 offered a great deal of space to think. About music, future plans, but especially about how I wanted to be as a musician. The program that came forth was ultimately a reflection on a study of classical saxophone. Simultaneously it was a bridge towards new plans and ideas. In the end, I only played music that I really wanted to play.

The concert was not accessible to the public, but could be heard via livestream. View the whole concert below.

Flute Sonata in A minor (1747)- C. Ph. E. Bach (1714 – 1788)
transcription for solo saxophone
Maï (1975) – Ryo Noda (1948)
for solo saxophone
Concertino da Camera – Jacques Ibert (1890 – 1962)
with Martien Maas (piano)
Cello Sonata No 1 in Bb major (1838) – Felix Mendelssohn (1809 – 1847)
with Martien Maas (piano)
Grave et Presto (1938) – Jean Rivier (1896 – 1987)
with Stem Quartet
Twee Koralen (1974) – Klaas de Vries (1944)
with Stem Quartet

Final Bacherlor Exam - REFIN(D)ING - Iván Sánchez Iglesias